Platte County, Park Hill South tune up for Suburban championships

Platte County closed out its home schedule Tuesday, Jan. 26, beating Suburban Conference Blue Division rival Kearney but coming in behind St. Joseph Central. With the league meet scheduled for this weekend, the Pirates put up 95 points to beat Kearney by 17. Central, a member of the Red Division, won the quad meet that also included Bishop LeBlond. Central scored 117.

Platte County won three events at Platte County Community Center North in Platte City.

Hailee Baer came in first in the 200-yard individual medley in 2 minutes, 31.09 seconds for the Pirates, while Hannah Havemeier swam 27.23 in the 50 freestyle to edge out Central’s Maddie Brownfield. Platte County’s Skylear Perkins beat two teammates in a three-person 1-meter diving field.

Platte County enters the Suburban Conference Blue Division Championships as defending champions.

Last season, the Pirates were originally second in the final team standings before an entry error was discovered, leading to the disqualification of a Kearney relay team that changed the outcome.

So far, Platte County has two swimmers qualified for the Missouri State Swimming and Diving Championships — Havemeier and Rachel Valentine in the 100 breaststroke. That duo along with Baer and Bailey Newell also made a state cut in the 200 medley relay.

Park Hill South 203, Blue Springs South 111

The Panthers were dominant in their final dual of the season Tuesday, Jan. 26 at Park Hill District Aquatic Center. They won nine events, including a sweep of the relays.

Tori Beeler (200 individual medley and 100 freestyle) and Georgia Clark (100 butterfly and 100 breaststroke) grabbed two individual wins apiece for Park Hill South, while Allison Garrett (200 freestyle) and Maggie Hickey (100 backstroke) had one each. Beeler, Clark and Hickey were also on the victorious 200 medley relay with Anna Riekhof.

Beeler and Garrett were on the 200 freestyle relay with Maryn Burns and Kirsten Aken, while Clark, Garrett, Hickey and Aken were the 400 freestyle team.