Election filing deadline nears

There is about another week for candidates to sign up for local races for boards of aldermen and education, with some filings already received.

Filings close at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 15 for the Tuesday, April 2 election. The last day to register to vote in the April election is Wednesday, March 6.

Municipal filings

Platte City – Terms expire for aldermen Vickie Atkins, Steve Hoeger and John Higgins. All incumbents have filed for re-election. Currently, no other candidates have filed.

Parkville – Terms expire for mayor Nan Johnston and aldermen Philip Wassmer, Brian Whitley, Doug Wylie and Greg Plumb. All have filed for re-election. In ward 1, Wassmer will face a challenge from Weston Coble and in ward 3 Wylie will face Scott Herbig.

Weston – Terms expire for mayor Cliff Harvey, ward 1 alderman Joyce Priddy and ward 2 alderman Mark Seymour. Harvey and Priddy have filed for re-election. Mike Goentzel has filed for election to the ward 2 seat.

Riverside – Terms expire for aldermen Al Bowman, Aaron Thatcher and Sal LoPorto. All three have filed for re-election.

Dearborn – The term for alderman Don Kerns will expire, with the open seat left by the death of alderman Bob Bryan last year also up for grabs. Pat Downing and Cory Hott have filed for election.

Board of education filings

Platte County R-3 - The terms for Gary Brown and Adam McGinness will expire. Brown has filed for re-election. Alisha Elliott, Derek Espeer and Gena Ross have also filed for election.

West Platte – The terms for Donald Wilson and Ryan Rotterman will expire. Both have filed for re-election.

Park Hill – Terms expire for Susan Newburger and Todd Fane. Both have filed for re-election.

North Platte – Terms expire for Eric Meadows and Carla Shanks. Shanks has filed for re-election. Trace Stone has also filed for election.