Groundbreaking for Hopewell Elementary will be May 22

With one new member, the Park Hill Board of Education held a reorganizational meeting last week.

Incumbent Matt Pepper did not seek re-election and with only two slots open on the board and two candidates filed, the Park Hill School District was able to forgo the April 3 election this year. At the Thursday, April 12 board meeting, board secretary Opal Hibbs swore in returning member Kimberlee Ried and new member Kyla Yamada.

The Board elected Bart Klein as president, Susan Newburger as vice president and Kimberlee Ried as treasurer. It also elected Scott Monsees as the Missouri School Board Association delegate, Janice Bolin as the alternate delegate, Opal Hibbs as board secretary and Kashca Omundson as alternate secretary.

The board also heard an update on construction of Walden Middle School. At the time, foundations were mostly complete and substructure installation was under way.

Construction of the support services facility, which will be located at Northwest 96th Street and North Seymour, was recently put out to bid. Bids for an engineered metal building, paint booth and vehicle wash bay have been received and are set for approval later this month.

A groundbreaking ceremony for the construction of Hopewell Elementary School will be held at 10 a.m. Tuesday, May 22 at the school site, at Northwest 68th Street and Waukomis Drive.