Platte County 1 of 20 counties part of disaster declaration

FEMA outreach teams will begin canvassing Missouri communities affected by the flooding and severe weather in the 20 counties included in the federal disaster declaration to help impacted Missourians register for federal disaster assistance.

The Trump administration Tuesday, July 9 granted a federal disaster declaration, approving the release of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) individual assistance to 20 counties impacted by severe weather that began April 29.

Platte County is included in this declaration, which also includes Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Pulaski and St. Charles counties.

The teams, known as Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams (DSATs), are working in counties designated as federal disaster areas to assist residents as they register with FEMA and to quickly identify and address immediate and emerging needs. The teams also can provide application updates and referrals to additional community resources for remaining needs.

This assistance can include help with making temporary repairs to their disaster-damaged houses, paying for another short-term place to live while permanent repairs are being made and/or help with serious, disaster-related needs not already covered by other programs.

DSAT team members can easily be identified by their federal photo identifications and FEMA clothing. Missouri residents are reminded to ask for official photo identification before providing personal information.

Housing inspectors contracted by FEMA also will be working in disaster-designated counties, inspecting damage sustained by survivors who have already registered with FEMA. When FEMA-contracted inspectors arrive at a home, they will display official photo identification. If the photo identification is not visible, it’s OK to ask to see it. This helps prevent fraud.

Missouri Senators Roy Blunt and Josh Hawley released statements thanking the administration.

“Today’s announcement is an important step toward making sure communities hit by historic flooding and damaging tornadoes have the support they need to rebuild,” Blunt said. “There has been extensive damage to local infrastructure, businesses, and personal property. FEMA’s Individual Assistance program will provide these 20 counties with grants for temporary housing, home repairs, and uninsured property loss to help individuals rebuild Missouri communities.”

The entire Missouri congressional delegation, including Blunt and Hawley, recently sent a letter to Trump supporting the Parson administration’s request for a disaster declaration for 41 Missouri counties. FEMA is currently reviewing eligibility for the remaining 21 counties not covered by today’s declaration.

Survivors who sustained damage or losses caused by the flooding and/or straight-line winds can register with FEMA online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Telephone registration is available 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.